Santa Cruz Design + Innovation Center

I just got back from the launch of the Santa Cruz Design + Innovation Center. I am really bad at estimating how many people were there but it must have been in the millions. Ok, would you believe several hundred. The room was not big enough so they had to turn away a lot of people and I believe maximum capacity was around 250.

Ed Porter, Santa Cruz City Council Member and Chair of the Santa Cruz Design + Innovation Center talked about how he got up at some of the original meetings at talked about the Renaissance and expected to get a polite “thank you but…” But, to his surprise his notion of the necessity of arts and design at the forefront of a burgeoning movement was met with, well him becoming the chair of the committee.

Darrin Caddes, the head designer guy at Plantronics – I have been told you have to see the wall of ears there – followed with a great reasoning of why Santa Cruz. We have a great culture made up of Do-It-Yourself all out energy driven (I would amend that while energetic it is a laid back type) people.

As I have said before I am a marketing guy not a designer. But to be able to hook up with a network of people who do it really really well is a huge blessing. It made me think about the other types of networks in Santa Cruz. Others are working on different parts of geek dinners and get togethers. I am thinking about starting a Meetup, but I certainly don’t want to muddy the waters. I will have to do some more thinking about it.

In order to do it we would need to get a company to sponsor – you got to have the pizza and beer if we are having a geek party – and a venue.

Any suggestions?

Leave a Reply

